## CA18234. Computational materials sciences for efficient water splitting with nanocrystals from abundant elements

## First International Symposium on the DFT Modelling of Materials Relevant for Water Splitting

Workshop of Working Group 1

Online meeting, December 11th, 2020

## **Program**

9:00 Opening and remarks from the Action Chair

Session 1, Chair: Michele Pavone, University of Naples Federico II, Italy

9:15 Carlo Adamo, Chimie, ParisTech

Development of quantum chemical methods for the description of the complex interfaces

10:05 Maytal Caspary Toroker, Technion, Israel

Material variations in nano-scaled nickel oxyhydroxide affecting the water oxidation reaction

10:35 Marcos Fernández García, ICP-CSIC, Spain

Hydrogen thermo-photo production using metal-promoted titania-based materials

11:05 Kai Exner, Duisburg-Essen Universität, Germany

Recent Advancements in the Theoretical Description of the Oxygen Evolution Reaction: Activity Descriptors and Screening Approaches

11:35 Break

**Session 2, Chair: Dorota Rutkowska-Zbik,** Jerzy Haber Institute of Catalysis and Surface Chemistry, Krakow, Poland

11:55 Giovanni di Liberto, Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca, Italy

Theoretical Description of BiVO4-based Heterojunctions for Photocatalytic Water Splitting: Insights from DFT

12:25 Christiana A. Mitsopoulou, University of Athens, Greece

DFT Studies on the Mechanisms of Hydrogen Evolution Catalysed by Transition Metal Complexes

12.55 Yuri Mastrikov, University of Latvia, Latvia

Water adsorption on the stepped TiO<sub>2</sub>-terminated (001) SrTiO<sub>3</sub> surface

13:25 Qiuhua Liang, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

Monolayer Nitrides Doped with Transition Metals as Efficient Catalysts for Water Oxidation: The Singular Role of Nickel

13:55 Iskra Koleva, University of Sofia "St. Kliment Ohridski", Bulgaria

DFT Modelling of Structure and Reducibility of Cerium Dioxide Nanoparticles Doped by Zirconium

14:25 Concluding remarks

14:35 Conference closing

Note: The speakers are kindly requested to leave around 10 minutes for questions/comments

<u>Local organizing committee:</u> Francesc Viñes, *IQTCUB;* Konstantin Neyman, *ICREA & IQTCUB* Francesc Illas, *IQTCUB*